Iyengar receives the esteemed Karnataka Rajyotsava Award for 2023

Faculty Award

Distinguished University Professor S.S. “Ram” Iyengar received the Karnataka Rajyotsava Award for 2023, the second highest civilian honor in the Indian state of Karnataka. The award is presented annually by the Karnataka government on the state’s establishment day, celebrated on November 1 as first instituted by Kannada Rajyotsava in 1966. The award recognizes outstanding contributions made by citizens and nonresident Indians across various fields such as arts, education, industry, literature, science, sports, medicine, social service, and public affairs.

The award ceremony took place in Bangaluru where the Chief Minister of Karnataka conferred the honor. This year the government of Karnataka announced the names of 68 individuals out of a field of 25,000 nominations received, who had demonstrated exceptional service to the nation. Among the awardees, Dr. Iyengar stood out as one of the only three nonresident citizens to receive this prestigious recognition a testament to his remarkable contributions.

Recipients of the award receive an Rs.500,000 prize in addition to a 25 g gold medal and a framed award citation.